One of my worst nightmares comes true.

October 3, 2009 at 12:30 PM 2 comments

I think it’s safe to say that what we discovered in our home last week was one of my top 1o worst nightmares.  I am sure some of you pet owners out there have experienced this, and maybe you didn’t think it was a big deal… but let me tell you, I had a mental breakdown. Ready?  We had FLEAS.  I guess we didn’t have fleas, but rather Diesel had fleas.  Holy freakin’ cow! FLEAS!!

So let me tell you how it all started. Last  week Mina and I noticed that every morning we would wake up with new bug bites, mainly around our ankles.  My first thoughts were, oh crap–we have BED BUGS!! Thats a really, really gross thought.  I would turn the light off in our bedroom and flash a flashlight on our matress in search of the little creatures.  Thankfully, I found nothing.  Then Mina thought, maybe they’re just mosquito bites, no big deal. Even though they didn’t look like mosquito bites, I went with it.  A day later I started noticing that Diesel was scratching a lot, I then thought oh crap–we have fleas.

After much googling and research, we discovered that yup, sure enough Diesel had fleas.  During my research I discovered that fleas jump.  Fantastic.  Oh and they lay their larvae all over your entire house.  Even more fantastic. We went to the pet store and bought every form of flea killer there was.  Nearly 100 dollars later, the process began. I vacuumed everything, including the curtains, washed all dirty laundry, washed all bedding, gave Diesel like 4 baths, I even vacuum our clothes!!

Mina thought I had lost my mind. All I could picture were these little nasty creatures jumping and laying their eggs all over my nice and clean little home.  The eggs would then hatch and then more jumping creatures would continue to destroy my life.  I even pictured them laying their eggs in my ears. Ew, ew, ew.  I’m a little crazy, I know.

Anyways, one week later, I think I can safely say, we are flealess.  Oh the joys of being a pet owner.

Entry filed under: Life. Tags: , , .

Words of Encouragement Peeves

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. barefaced  |  October 3, 2009 at 1:44 PM

    Yuck! Fleas are gross. We didn’t have that horrible an experience with Kiko, thank goodness. Love and MISS you too!

    Reply
  • 2. Mina  |  October 5, 2009 at 3:50 PM

    Eww that’s gross, I feel bad for Mina in all of this! Someone buy him a bottle of Jack and a big 24 pack of Coke Zero.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Things I’m Part Of:

A Glance at the Month

October 2009
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 3,894 Visits