Coconut Macaroons

September 12, 2009 at 9:51 PM 3 comments

The baking continues.  If you like coconut, you will LOVE this recipe! I am usually not crazy about coconut macaroons, but these turned out delicious! I initially made these for my dad (they’re his favorite), the recipe made about 20 and they were gone within 2 days…the entire family inhaled them!

Macaroons 1Macaroons 2

Fact: Coconut macaroons are a traditional passover dessert! (<– Just learned that!)

Coconut Macaroons

3 Cups flacked sweetened coconut
3/4 Cup sugar
4 Large egg whites
1 Teaspoon vanilla extract
1/8 Teaspoon almond extract

1. Preheat oven to 325.  Line two cookie sheets with parchment or foil.

2. In large bowl, stir coconut, sugar, egg whites salt, vanilla, and almond extract until well combined. (The batter looks a little strange because there is no flour, but just go with it)

3.  Drop batter by rounded teaspoons, 1 inch apart, on prepared cookie sheets.  Bake until set and lightly golden, about 25 minutes, rotating cookie sheets between upper and lower oven racks halfway through baking.  Cool 2 minute on cookie sheets; with wide metal spatula, transfer cookies to wire racks to cool completely.

Nutrition facts: (I’m only including these because they won’t depress you)
About 41 calories per cookie, 1g protein, 6g carbs, 2g total fat, 0 mg cholesterol, 32 mg sodium.


Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , .

Sweet Success!! Hello Weight Watchers!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. barefaced  |  September 12, 2009 at 10:04 PM

    These still freak me out. I don’t like coconut…unless it is a a pina colada! 🙂 Congrats on the success though!

    You need to come and bake pie with me!!! Miss you.

    Reply
  • 2. Stefany  |  September 12, 2009 at 10:53 PM

    Wow! I got lucky with my SITS choice tonight! I LOOOOOVE coconut and these sound divine. I can’t wait to try them.

    Happy SITS Saturday Sharefest!!

    Reply
  • 3. Kara  |  September 20, 2009 at 10:20 PM

    Thanks so much for stopping by my blog.

    These look fantastic, I love coconut!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Things I’m Part Of:

A Glance at the Month

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Blog Stats

  • 3,763 Visits

