Sweet Success!!

September 8, 2009 at 9:04 PM 1 comment

I have been in super-hyper baking mode lately and I MUST share with all of you my latest and greatest accomplishment! Ready? I successfully baked my first two layer cake! I say successfully, because I have attempted to bake a two layer cake 4-5 time prior to this attempt and failed miserably each time.  I must say I learned A LOT! I think the most important thing I learned is patience. It’s apparently very important to allow your cake to COMPLETELY cool (which may take an hour or longer) before trying to put it all together.  In the past I always got anxious and tried to ice the cake before it was completely cooled off… as a result I would have two layers of crumbled cake sweet stuff.

So not only was I successful at putting this cake together, it also tasted DELICIOUS.  The end result: A chocolate buttermilk cake with chocolate buttermilk icing = heavenly. I would definitely recommend this recipe to anyone! Fresh out of the oven!

Deliciousness

Chocolate Buttermilk Cake
2 cups flour
1 cup unsweetened cocoa
1 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
Salt
1 1/2 cups buttermilk (Maybe a little extra for more moisture!)
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 3/4 cups granulated sugar
3/4 cup butter or margarine (1 1/2 sticks)
3 large eggs
Choice of frosting

1. Preheat oven to 350 F.  Grease two 9-inch round cake pans.  Line bottoms of pans with waxed paper.  Grease waxed paper; dust with cocoa shaking out excess. (This is an important step! Your cakes will come out of the pan so smoothly – and in one piece 🙂 I just learned this trick!)

2. On sheet of waxed paper (I used a bowl) combine flour, cocoa, baking soda, and 3/4 teaspoon salt.  In 2-cup liquid measuring cup, mix buttermilk and vanilla; set aside.

3. In large bowl, with mixer on low speed, beat sugar and butter until blended. Increase speed to high; beat 3 minutes or until creamy, occasionally scraping bowl bowl with spatula.  Reduce speed to low; add eggs, 1 at a time, beating well after each addition.

4. Beat in flour mixture alternately with buttermilk mixture just until blended, beginning and ending with flour mixture, scraping bowl ocassionally.

5. Pour batter into prepared pans.  Bake until toothpick inserted in center of cake comes out clean, 30-35 minutes.  Cool pans on wire rack 10 minutes.  Invert cakes onto racks to cool completely.  Carefully remove and discard waxed paper.

7. Assemble cake: Place 1 cake layer rounded side down on cake plate.  With narrow metal spatula spread 2/3 cup frosting over layer.  Top with second layer, rounded side up.  Spread remaining frosting over side and top of cake.

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , .

My Ten Guilty Pleasures… Coconut Macaroons

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. barefaced  |  September 8, 2009 at 10:48 PM

    YAY!!! Looks yummy! Bummed I wasn’t there to eat it all up 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Things I’m Part Of:

A Glance at the Month

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Blog Stats

  • 3,763 Visits

