Columbus, here we come!

April 5, 2009 at 11:29 PM 5 comments

So, a couple of months ago I had my interview for the DENTPATH program at OSU. I’m excited to report that I have been accepted into the program!! I am super nervous excited about having this opportunity.  I am pretty sure that this program was designed just for ME! Here are the details:

– One year long

– Science intensive

– Full scholarship!!!

– Upon successful completion, I get to enter to dental school!

So although entering this program means that I will be in school on year longer than planned, having this opportunity will ensure my success in the future.  After successfully completing the one year of classes, I  believe that I will  have the confidence/knowledge I need to survive the torturous four year path to becoming a dentist.

I think that it’s safe to say that prior to having this interview, I was scared shitless about my future plans. In my eyes, I was a failure and the chance of getting accepted into a program such as this one, let alone denal school, was pretty much impossibile.  I used to spend endless hours trying to come up with a back up plan.  I think that the final back up plan that I decided on was to enter a master’s program and then reapply to dental school.  I hated the idea and it was one of the last things I wanted to do, but what else was I going to do??

At the end of the day, everything worked itself out.  I have no idea how or why, but it did. (Duck, I promise, things will work themselves out for you too…I know it doesn’t seem that way right now, but everything will be okay.)

Although I now know what I will be working towards for the next year … and what state we will be living in, I still feel as though there are so many things left up in the air.  I am trying not to drive myself crazy about the details, as they are much to complicated at the moment.

As for right now, we’ll be moving to OH! IO!

Entry filed under: Dental School. Tags: , , , .

David after the dentist 6 days of hell…

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sarah  |  April 6, 2009 at 7:41 AM

    You know, ever since you left Ohio… I’m fairly certain things have gone down hill for the whole state!!! OHIO welcomes you back with open arms!!! 😀 I can’t wait! FYI: 2 months, 15 days and 14 hours

    Reply
  • 2. Pearl  |  October 9, 2010 at 4:01 PM

    I’m interested in the DENTPATH program, what DAT score do you have to get, and do you have to retake it?

    Reply
  • 3. McKenzie  |  April 3, 2011 at 11:01 AM

    Hello,

    My name is McKenzie and I have been accepted into the DENTPATH program for the fall of 2011. I am really excited about moving to Ohio and being able to be a part of this great opportunity. Since you have first hand experience I was wondering if you would be able to offer me some insight on the how the program was for you? If you have time I would really like to hear about your time in DENTPATH (good, and any bumps in the road if you encountered any). I think my email is attached to this post, so it would be great if you could respond to that.

    Thank you in advance for your time, and I look forward to hearing from you!

    McKenzie

    Reply
  • 4. Janelle Walters  |  October 23, 2013 at 9:40 AM

    Hi, my name is Janelle and I received an invite to complete the DentPath application for the upcoming year. Like you, I have been strongly advised to begin a Master’s program and I just do not feel good about that plan because that still doesn’t guarantee a shot at Dental school, so why continue to increase my student loans I have taken out thus far? A little about me: I have been a dental assistant for 14 years (civilian and military) and it has been my dream since I was 12 to be a dentist, so I am definitely no stranger to the dental field! To say it is my passion would be an understatement!

    I had been feeling hopeless for the dental school admissions process for this cycle, but this has given me a glimmer of hope. I was wondering if you could give me some advice about this program? I am trying to search for as much information as possible since I will be an out of state applicant either way. Do you feel this program benefitted you towards the dental school process? Do you believe it helped you to be accepted to dental school the following year ( with successful completion of course)?
    If you would be interested in talking about this more, or anyone else in this situation, please respond! I would love to learn as much as possible!

    I hope dentsl school is going well for you and I look forward to hearing from you.

    Thank you,
    Janelle W.

    Reply
    • 5. Jag  |  December 14, 2013 at 2:29 PM

      Hi Janelle,

      I also applied to dentpath program this year. When I was talking to the advisor, I am pretty sure that successful completing this program will guarantee admission into dental school, the following year. He also said that they invite 25 people and only accept 8-10 students. Similar to you, I am currently working as a dental assistant. Do you know if they invite all 25 people for interview or they select certain number of people? So far, I didn’t hear anything back from them. I am very nervous. Hopefully, I will get invitation to an interview soon. I think we suppose to get interview invitation around mid-december. I am guessing, we might hear back from them sometime next week. If you have any other information about this program, please share it with me.

      Thank you.

      Jag

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Things I’m Part Of:

A Glance at the Month

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Blog Stats

  • 3,763 Visits

